Skip to content

thinking blogger :: what were they Thinking?

March 29, 2007

::

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

::

okay, so there’s this award out there called the thinkingBlogger award, and last night stilettoGirl decided to inflict it upon erm, award it to me, citing my post ::

10 weapons i carried in prison

as evidence of my so called brilliance. (staying OUT of prison would have been more brilliant, imo, but ya take what ya can get).

 

*le grin* 8)

actually, i’m tickled someone thinks i’m worthy of any award that includes the word *thinking* without the subsequent or preclusive inclusion of a negative.

unfortunately, this award carries with it the responsibility to name five other bloggers who also deserve the award (and if we are being fair, it should preferably be five bloggers who have not already received the award) so i gotta work for it.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

so here you are :: tagging the next five thinking bloggers ::

skyWindows :: call foul if you want to for tagging my own wife, but my only attempt at brownie points here is in placing her name at the top of this list. because, while marriage to me might seem to automatically disqualify her, her blog rocks and she really does put a lot of good solid thought and hard effort into it.

every tuesday night she blogs american Idol as it plays (no easy feat) including wiki links to songs and artist and recording all the judges comments as well as our family’s take on each song and gives her prediction for the bottom three.

then every wednesday she posts the vote results as soon as we have them. and she gets tons of hits on these posts (i’m pretty sure the entire left coast reads her blog rather than watch the result show on wednesday because she gets it to them hours ahead of time).

but it’s posts like this one that cause me to extend this award. e-world or meatworld, my wife doesn’t miss much.

on discovering wal mart now includes spa in the front of the store ::

As I waited in the typical forever long line to check out, my mind started wandering… What kind of person would want to get a mani/pedi from Wal-mart? I mean, who is that desperate? Mani/Pedi’s are supposed to be something relaxing, a pampering… a time to bathe yourself with luxury and take time for yourself. Who, goes to Wal-mart to “get away” from it all???

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

the girl with the broken Pen :: this is the blogger that got me blogging. and below is the first post i read on her site. i had been to other blogs before, but they were always politics or memes or other schnodgras carp that i could never see myself dumping lots of time into.

crystal, on the other hand, was just writing about life. i read it. and i said to myself, now there’s something i can get into.

so, in light of that, i forgive her her obsession with glenn beck and continue to read her blog

a post on a day out with a friend ::

So, Linds and I got into some kind of argument, as we are wont to do. I was probably right.
In a moment of frustration, she attempts to insult me. What does she say in her meager attempt?
“Market Economist!”
To which I reply, with equally insulting intention, “Keynesian-influenced Marxist!”
Oh, we are just so cool it hurts.

note ::

crystal is in the process of moving, so if you dig her blog be patient, it might be a little while before she updates again.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

fracas :: fracas is so full of meme she could become a psych pop icon if she could just find enough people to pray to her.

that said she is one of the few *meme* style bloggers who actually puts some serious thought into her blog. fracas is not 600 pages of *what kind of internet quiz are you* nor is it a dumping ground for all of youTube’s castoffs.

like my wife, she does a lot of posts on what is actually happening in the popular world. she also does some cool regular features like mondayMelee’ and sundaySnopes.

now, she doesn’t like to call mondayMelee’ a meme, but it really is one in the best sense of the word. in the original sense of the word.

she actually gets people to participate in answering deep, thought-provoking questions on a weekly basis and she makes us do it on mOnDaY. because, of course, that is the point. on the one day you don’t want to come up with a post she actually encourages you to come up with a really good post.

here is an excerpt from her latest mondayMelee’ ::

3. The Malcontent: Name something you’re unhappy with.
I am unhappy that (so many members of) my generation seems to either be too scared to parent their kids, have decided they don’t need to parent their kids, or they’ve decided that kids need friends more than parents. They couldn’t be more wrong.

4. The Meritorious: Give someone credit for something and name it if you can.
I have to give credit to a friend of mine who, although she has other employment, continues to take clients at home to do their hair. She gave me a haircut that makes me look and feel young and fabulous!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

the danite :: hands down the most brutally honest man on the internet. he doesn’t take comments, he doesn’t track trends, he doesn’t post youTube. he posts his life (near as i can tel, unedited). he probably won’t participate in this meme, but i can’t lay out my 5 top picks for thinkingBlogger without including him.

i found the danites’s blog the same place i found crystal’s blog. and a quick perusal of their blogs will give you a hint on that front (but i’ll let you figure it out).

one thing i have found in my years in prison and elsewhere in meatworld is that brutally honest people are usually just brutal. they drop bombs at your feet to shock you into silence and then lay you low by being brutally honest about you. and while i will admit that the danite is totally capable of such tactics, he does not normally resort to them.

his honesty is generally reserved for himself and is thoughtfully and honestly put forth. sometimes i question how smart he is, but i never question his intelligence.

from a post about fixing his car (though, like most of his posts, it is about much more than that) ::

As I drive from the warehouse, the clouds are torn hangings blown against the mountains.

The weather suits my mood. I am a bit ragged myself at this point, but I am also feeling much more hopeful . . . [snip] . . . Life now feels like a morality fable. Each member of the family knows that something is wrong, and we are simply waiting for the dissonance to resolve itself somehow. I feel it particularly. I was ecstatic to get this job, and I found it challenging for a year. But the prospect of leaving where I am now is absolutely joyful.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

the footsteps of a Fool :: now here is a blog that i find intelligent on several levels. it is not the sort of blog that most people would follow because the blogger insists on making it about her (insert big evil grin here) and quite frankly, that is what makes it work.

this blog chronicles her journey through the current phase in her life. it doesn’t try to be about anything else. it doesn’t try to be anything more than it is. and (perhaps more importantly) it never tries to be anything less.

below is an excerpt from a post about shakespeare and his plays, but (as is usual in lyricalFool’s writings) that is just the parable that springboards into the truth ::

For a long time, I’ve held onto the label of “Spiritual, but not religious.” In the South, there is a strange polarity of religion, and it’s not all that attractive. To many folks, either you’re Southern Baptist (which I was raised) or Catholic (which I was christened). If someone asks you, and for simplicity’s sake you simply reply “Neither,” you may just find yourself on the receiving end of a weird, bug-eyed, slack-jawed, WTF look. To some people, there simply are no other options.

 

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

 

it’s on you guys now. you each have to name 5 bloggers meritorious enough for this award. if at all possible, name bloggers who have not already received it. click the icon to get the whole low-down on this meme and read the participation rules. feel free to snag the icon for your sidebar if (like me) you proudly collect such things.

note ::

if you are using ie, you will have to snag the image from the source (clicking the image will take you there) as my blog template doesn’t allow snagging on that browser.

 

19 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2007 11:15

    Oh my.. I’m shaking in my boots now brahnamin, worried that people will pray to me. I’m a Catholic.. that would get me into huge trouble so I’d definitely just rather they sign up and do the Melee. ; – )

    Thanks for your endorsement. I suppose I don’t mind people calling it a meme so long as they inculde your “in the best sense” or “in the original sense” disclaimer. I don’t see the point of the “answer the quiz and pass it on” memes. They don’t connect anyone, they’re just a way to make a post without trying too hard. I wanted mine to connect people and give them something to think about, then talk about.

    Okay. So now my problem is how to choose only 5 people. I guess that means I have to think.

  2. March 29, 2007 11:32

    you make me think on a weekly basis . . . i feel no remorse making you do the same.

    as for the prayer thing, if you’re catholic you could end up sainted and that would make it all legal and proper, no?

    of course, there’s that whole pesky *miracles and martyrdom* aspect to get through . . .

  3. March 29, 2007 12:19

    Wow! I just did the follow up to that post today. Oh, irony!

    And um…I don’t read 5 other blogs. Right now yours and your wife’s are pretty much it, although I have a crap load saved for future viewing, including the girl with th’ broken pen….

  4. March 29, 2007 14:25

    Well I kind of like the idea of making miracles happen for people, but frankly the martyrdom thing just sucks.

    Plus, I know for a fact I swear way too much to ever be a Saint.

    Guess I really will have to stick to the meme.

  5. March 29, 2007 16:20

    I knew Stilletto would list real interesting blogs.

  6. March 29, 2007 22:38

    And I’ve got two more to go but I’m getting drunk right now which means I’ll have to reread this tomorrow lol

    Poor Juggling Cats. He didn’t realize that he actually didn’t have to list excerpts or anything like that. Oops, that’s rude of me, talking about him as though he’s not going to read this.

    Juggling Cats, where did you find the little bloggie award thingamajigie? I was surfing for that all night last night! Argh! BTW, I listed that excerpt of yours because it was the first thing that struck me AND it was not because of brillliance for being in prison, but for the brilliance of surviving it and writing about it and coming out another person.

    I think.

  7. March 29, 2007 23:07

    @ fracas
    yeah, e’rybody wanna goo to heaven . . . noooboody wanna die, mon.

    @ max
    ty-glad you like it. keep a fire under her toes. she’s got two more to go.

    @ drunken girl in heelweapons
    take two more shots :: you’re almost lucid 😉

    if you mean where did i find the little thinking-blog icon, erm, right at the bottom of max’s post. you know . . . the one she nominated you on (insert evil grin).

    though i actually encountered the tag on someone else’s site a week or two ago and have been waiting for someone drunk . . . erm, *lucid* enough to vote me into the club

    8)

    as for the excerpts and whatnot, that’s just my style. i copied your format, but it’s not much different from what i do on my *blog o’ the week* posts.

  8. March 29, 2007 23:08

    great minds drink alot

  9. Crystal permalink
    March 29, 2007 23:55

    Oh, man. Now I gotta think of five deserving bloggers, none of whom you have listed.

    Thanks a lot.

    😉

  10. March 29, 2007 23:56

    Jesus Christ, dude. I’m starting to think this is a conspiracy. Second time I missed a link from her post in less than two days!

  11. March 29, 2007 23:56

    @ crystal
    wondered how many boxes you’d have to unpack to notice 8)

    @ stilettoGirl
    LoL-yeah, and you wouldn’t believe what daniel radcliffe and emma watson charged us for the spellwork 😉

  12. March 30, 2007 13:09

    Well, if you had to pay arm and a leg, the least they could do is throw in some free tickets to Equus.

  13. March 30, 2007 22:29

    max got those tickets. all i got was an autographed copy of severus snape sings the blues and a day pass to the alan rickman film festival

  14. March 30, 2007 23:27

    He just wants a blow job.

    Oh wait, am I allowed to say that here? Not sure.

  15. March 31, 2007 08:57

    LoL.

    one of my top posts of all time was about turning down a blowjob.

    i don’t know that i have your flair for invective, but prudery definitely is not something i’m ever likely to be accused of this side of 1990.

  16. March 31, 2007 08:58

    and why does everyone think that that is my only motivation? not that there isn’t plenty of evidence pointing in that direction, but . . .

Trackbacks

  1. An award means a new dress and shoes, doesn't it? « fracas
  2. I make people think! « Sky Windows
  3. Don’t be smelling my roses. « fracas

Leave a comment