Skip to content

New Experiment: Leptin Sensitivity

June 11, 2011

Okay – So I’m one of those people who find IF just silly easy. It fits my life. It fits my lifestyle. And it has certainly helped both with how much I eat each day as well as (I believe) stabilizing my blood sugars.  I generally have tons of energy, but it seems like I’m just not losing much weight.

So, I’m beginning to wonder if IF is maybe actually kind of counter productive while I still have a massively broken metabolism. And I plainly do (unfortunately) still have a massively broken metabolism.

Enter Dr. Kruse (many thanks to my friends over at the MDA forum for introducing me to Jack’s blog).

The metabolic culprit, in my case, is probably Leptin Resistance. Something I was peripherally aware of but didn’t really understand until  read the following posts on Dr. Kruse’s blog. Leptin 1, Leptin 2, Leptin 3.

And reading them in order was both insanely informative and extremely frustrating, because Doc does a good job in showing why Leptin Resistance is a Bad Thing but until the end of the third post doesn’t really say what to do about it. His advice, as it turns out, is pretty simple.

Her (Oprah is the example here) goal is to focus on becoming leptin sensitive by being required by eating 50 grams of protein at breakfast everyday within 30 minutes of rising, eliminating all snacking especially past 730 PM, eating three meals a day, and limiting her carb intake below fifty grams per day for about 6-8 weeks. In my practice, over the last 5 years that is about the bell curve I have seen for most patients to require their regain their signaling back. I check leptin sensitivity by asking a few questions or by ordering a reverse T3 level.

Please don’t let reading the solution dissuade you from reading the articles. They are well, well worth it in that they show you just how important leptin is and just how troublesome not being sensitive to it can be.

So what does all this have to do with IF? Well, I do my fasts overnight and throughout the morning. I stop eating at 8 or 9 pm and don’t break my fast until after noon on any given day and Dr. Kruse’s *prescription* wants an early morning feed. So IF (as I currently practice it) can’t coexist with reducing my leptin resistance.

And I’m okay with that.

One of the biggest draws of IF for me is that it helps mimic the eating pattern we evolved with, but more and more I’m discovering that I’m so not the guy I evolved from. My metabolism is broken six ways to Sunday (diabetes, high BP, extremely obese) and attempting to live like my ancestors with healthy metabolisms lived isn’t getting the job done for me. The healthy eating choices and consistent exercise has reduced my insulin sensitivity and begun to bring my fasting blood sugar numbers under control, but both weight loss and muscle gain still elude me (and Dr. Kruse shows a very clear correlation to what I’m experiencing and leptin resistance in his posts).

So, I’m going to give it a try. Tomorrow I’m going straight to the fridge when I wake up and cracking some eggs in the frying pan. Once I really start to notice the changes the Doc says I should notice I’ll rethink bringing IF back into the picture. I’ll know more where I’m at by the end of the summer.

Perhaps I’ll try flip-flopping my IF schedule around and fasting in the evenings instead of overnight into the mornings. Not as easy to wrangle, socially, but at this point choosing health over social acceptance I think I’m going to have to focus on what I need to stick around and be social in the decades to come.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 16, 2011 22:40

    I’m really interested in hearing about your results.

    Several articles I have read have noted IF’s ability to increase leptin sensitivity (which is why I chimed in on the MDA threads), but I can’t find any links to human studies–still looking!

    Nice blog!
    Dragonfly from MDA

Leave a Reply

