Skip to content

Why I will never take a statin drug

March 24, 2011

[Cholesterol’s] jobs, which are many, include insulating neurons, building and maintaining cellular walls, metabolizing fat soluble vitamins, producing bile, and kick-starting the body’s synthesis of many hormones, including the sex hormones. Cool stuff actually.

– Mark Sisson

::

I should probably have entitled this “Why I will never take a statin drug . . . again”

Yes, I once took one of these barbaric monstrosities that passes itself as legitimate medicine. It was part of my regimen of pills after I was first diagnosed as diabetic. Even though my cholesterol at the time was in the range that conventional wisdom tells us is *optimal* I was considered to be at risk of developing high cholesterol because I was an overweight diabetic with high blood pressure.

I guess it’s like icing and cake. They just automatically go together.

Well, that was six years ago and my cholesterol is still in what is considered the *normal* healthy range (if not optimal) despite the fact that I only took the recommended statins for about 4 months. I won’t bore you with stories about the number of doctors who have attempted to prescribe them for me since then.

But I will explain why I refuse to take them.

Before I explain statins, however, lets take a brief peek at *cholesterol* itself.

First, the stuff that they look at when they test your cholesterol isn’t cholesterol. Perhaps you have heard of HDL and LDL. Perhaps you have heard HDL described as *good* cholesterol and LDL described as *bad* cholesterol.

In point of fact, neither of them is cholesterol. They’re proteins, actually. And their job is to transport cholesterol. Cholesterol is made in your liver and it has a couple of jobs in your body. It is used to repair cells when they get old and/or damaged. It is also used to help control inflammation. Your body just kinda slaps the cholesterol on top of the inflamed area like a temporary bandage.

It is the job of LDL to take the cholesterol from your liver to the places in your body where it is needed. It is the job of HDL to bring old cholesterol back to the liver to be broken down and either recycled or discarded as waste.

What statins do is keep your liver from producing so much cholesterol in the first place.

So if you take statins, your overall cholesterol will go down.

The stuff that rebuilds your cells when they get damaged.

The stuff that helps soothe inflamed areas within your body.

Yeah. Lets make less of that. That’ll make us healthier – right?

Erm – no.

To me that logic flows about as well as grabbing a wrench while firemen are trying to drench your house to put out a fire and rushing up and closing the valve in the hydrant that is feeding their hose – because you’re afraid of water damage and the unsightly things it will do to your house.

Which is burning.

And now is burning even harder because you’ve nipped all that crazy firefighting in the bud.

That’s statins for you. They don’t fight the fire. They fight the firemen.

So, instead of statins I take omega 3 fish oil tablets, eat lots of fish and grass fed beef, use neutral fats like coconut oil, butter, and (occasionally) really good olive oils. I stay away from margarine and vegetable oils and I don’t eat sugars, grains, or legumes. And I get plenty of sleep. Because doing all those things tends to reduce the inflammation that gets your liver to produce so much extra cholesterol in the first place.

Cholesterol isn’t evil. It is something that all animals naturally produce so that their bodies can survive and thrive. Because in the absence of system-wide inflammation, the body pretty much just pushes out enough cholesterol to rebuild the cells in that body that get naturally damaged over time.

And that . . . is why I won’t take statin drugs.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2011 12:37

    Can you provide links to where you got this information from? I would like to read it from the direct source. It is an interesting concept to say the least.

  2. March 25, 2011 19:28

    Read – THIS

    (from Dr. Ron Rosedale, M.D.)

    This is not my only source, (I could literally supply hundreds of links), but this has all the pertinent information in one spot and doesn’t get too deep into the mind numbing scientific jargon that often gets tacked on when doctors start talking shop, ringing in crisply at only 6 pages. Plus, all the information is from an actual medical doctor (which I know is important to you) who has the distinction of specializing in both nutrition and metabolic medicine.

    Dr. Rosedale’s credentials can be found outlined – HERE.

  3. June 27, 2011 13:46

    Nice Post Brahnamin.

    I like your website too! Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

