Skip to content

I said “Caveman”

March 6, 2011

“If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough” -Albert Einstein

::

I am very fortunate in that I am employed in a natural foods store run by (mostly) open minded people. People who are into the community in a very real way, providing a retail venue for local farmers to sell their products right here in town year round. I have access to fresh, local produce; grass fed/finished beef; and a host of other goodies (organic Coconut Oil anyone?) that would otherwise be hard to obtain in these parts.

(The phone conversation between Harvey Keitel and Susan Sarandon’s characters in Thelma and Louise describes where I live perfectly).

…..“You sound like you’re in the middle of nowhere.”

…..“Nope. But you can see it from here.”

But perhaps the thing I like best about my new job (right after the fact that I’m allowed to wear my Vibram 5-fingers to work) is that the people I work with have not only heard of the paleo/primal way of eating, but accept it as a viable choice.

So today we’re setting some of the shelves and one of the vendors who is down helping us to get the store ready to open brought  in subs for everybody. I knew they were there, but I kept working. (Yeah, I could have taken off the bread and feasted on the meat and salad within, but I couldn’t un-mayonnaise them, so I didn’t bother. Even though it was after 1pm, I wasn’t really hungry yet).

After a few minutes, however, our visiting vendor noticed that I hadn’t joined everyone else and came back to tell me about the subs, in case I didn’t know.

I felt like I was on autopilot as I opened my mouth to rattle off an explanation that at this point is starting to feel rehearsed. But instead, I bit off what I was going to say and started over.

One word.

“Caveman,” was all I said, smiling and lifting the next shelf to put in place.

He nodded, lifted one hand in that universal *say no more* gesture and left me to my work.

I was actually pleasantly surprised and even a little elated to – for once – not have to engage in the verbal acrobatics that are usually required to explain my WoE.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2011 21:04

    So, is this the end of the blog?

  2. March 24, 2011 22:35

    No, I’ve just been mad busy opening the new store. (Which you well know). Thanks for the prod, though.

  3. June 19, 2011 03:06

    That’s a neat story. It really shows how well known this primal thing is becoming.

Leave a Reply

