Skip to content

saying goodbye to another old Friend

March 28, 2007

people say, keep your cats indoors, they’ll live longer.

maybe.

maybe it’s a sympathy born of my time in prison, but i have a hard time confining such an independent creature once it becomes obvious that he will not be content if left inside.

the other day on her way to work my wife saw a cat dead on the road that looked suspiciously like Scout. she called me and i checked on my way to work. i actually got out of the car and examined him.

male, right size, right markings, but he had been flattened and twisted from the hips up and his head was crushed, eyes eaten out by crows.

i just couldn’t be sure.

that was a week ago and we haven’t seen scout since then.

i am not a cat person as a general rule. but i liked that cat. and i’m really going to miss him.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2007 13:55

    Awwww.

    I’m so sad!

    I would need a week off work to mourn the loss of any of my moggies! My three are all indoor cats. . . .I think I give them enough stimulation that they don’t want to go outside too much. . . . .

    I do however take them out in the summer on leashes. (yes I am one of ‘those’ people)

  2. March 28, 2007 20:21

    Oh I am so sorry!!!!

    Pour Scout!!!!

    Blessings

    Mama Kelly

  3. March 28, 2007 20:32

    cats on a leash was my second choice for blog title. i just didn’t think anyone would believe it.

    yeah, with me and T working so far from home and the kids in school indoor pets would just have too much alone time.

  4. March 29, 2007 07:51

    awww, that totally sucks. I’ve always been an INDOOR cat person because we lost so many of our outdoor cats when I was young. In fact, my last Indoor cat is still alive & kicking (with my ex-hus) at the ripe old age of 20! 🙂

    I’m sorry for your loss. I know what you mean about liking *that* cat… they’re not all created equal!

  5. April 1, 2007 14:38

    While staying in the house I lived at in the land of Grrr I felt as if I were in Prison… I referred to the elderly couple as my ‘jailors’ or ‘wardens’ because they were forever picking at my every move and I felt as if I were stuck in my room with nowhere to escape…

    I had my horse and rabbit there too out back and they kept breaking out of their pens… and my heart felt so much compassion for them. I realized that no creature likes to be penned in. We are granted freedom by God and all have an inate desire for freedom. The freedom to choose is the most precious gift of all. When we are stripped of that freedom, we ache in our hearts and minds.

    I cannot imagine what being in prison wold actually be like. My freedom was important enough to me that I left in a horse trailer converted to a camper to escape my ‘jailors’ but at least I had that choice.

    And now for the first time in two of my cars’ lives they are free to go out and come in because I’m not living in an area with coyotes or other beasts that would just make them food. And this trailer is just too small to keep them cooped up in. It’s nice to lay in the grass in the backyard of where my trailer is and have my cats with me. While they are independent, they like to be with me all the time.

    I love your writing… and appreciate the warning labels for some of the posts. 😉

  6. April 1, 2007 14:39

    Oh, and I’m really sorry your cat was killed.. I’m very attached to mine and it grieves me whenevr one of my pets passes…

  7. April 1, 2007 18:37

    everybody loves a good warning label.

    my favorite was the alergen warning on a bag of pistachios. it said :: contains pistachios.

    thank god they put that small print in there. i might’ve been misled by the big label on the front that said :: P I S T A C H I O S

Leave a Reply

