Skip to content

Food Addiction

July 18, 2009

Are you a food addict?

I’ve gone off on this particular subject before, but the absolute ridiculousness of the term begs for it to be done over and over and over again until every bloody soul on the planet takes a good long hard think about what the f*ck it is they are actually saying when they use that bloody phrase.

The video past the jump deals with it beautifully.

More often than not fat acceptance and fit acceptance are mutually exclusive ideas (ideals), but I really don’t think they necessarily have to be at cross purposes all the time.

See, you can lose all the fat in the world, but if you don’t eventually come to terms with yourself and get comfortable in your own skin it will all have been for nothing.

::

::

If you want to make changes, by all means – make changes.

But demonizing your fat is too close to demonizing yourself. When the fat is gone you still have you to deal with, and you will have much more success IMO (and enjoy your success more) if you deal with yourself first and treat your fat as the byproduct of life that it is.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2009 11:21

    I couldn’t agree more. You can change without hating yourself and life is too short to waste time hating yourself.

  2. July 19, 2009 13:15

    That it is. Way too short.

  3. August 3, 2009 18:03

    That was a cool video. Joy is absolutely gorgeous!!(I love how she hasn’t stopped being a woman just because she wears larger clothes.)

    brahnamin, I wander around the fat-o-sphere reading & talking, but no one seems to hear me. It’s odd. With all the food experimenting I’ve done for weight loss & training (cycling), I have found that there is a real connection between the types of food we eat & the size of our appetites & strength of our cravings. I did a blog on food addiction, but from a perspective of foods that cause out of control eating. I find when I eat without wheat, sugar or starches, my body responds so differently. My appetite gets smaller & I don’t need to eat as often.

    Once I’ve had some starchy food, my appetite goes into overdrive & I can eat enough to feed a small village in one sitting.

    This is not to be confused with my emotional eating, mind you. I used to smoke cigs, & whenever I was stressed, I smoked more. I quit in 2005. Now I notice that I’ll be careful with my eating, and do really well, until something stressful happens. Then I get real jittery & nervous unless I have some sugar. Then, once I’ve ingested the sugar, like a drug-addict, I’m compulsively eating again.

    What I am trying to teach myself is better stress-management. Finding a healthy thing to do on my way to that stressful meeting or activity, os I’m not sabatoging my weight loss.

    So far, I have only been able to isolate the problem, haven’t found the fix yet. But, I’m sure now that I know what to look for (stress-management instead of beating myself up for binge-eating) a solution will be found.

    Been enjoying your blog, thanks again…

    V

Leave a Reply

