Skip to content

Making New Toys

July 9, 2009

So any of you who know me know I’m death on gym memberships and expensive equipment.

For one thing, I don’t have the money for either. But more importantly, I don’t want to be beholden to either.

So, sometimes I make do with what’s available. Like cinderblocks.

And sometimes I get creative.

For instance, I’ve recently started my son on lifting awkward weights. Like cinderblocks. But one of his exercises involves carrying said cinderblock to the bottom of the hill behind our house and then turning around and hurling it as far up the hill as he can, running and snatching it up and hurling it a little farther up until he gets to the top.

Only problem is he lurches forward as he throws and ends up on his hands and sometimes the cinderblock comes rolling back pretty fast. Images of a brained child on my back hill led me to come up with a better solution.

::

So yesterday and today my son has been going down to the creek and collecting pebbles by the bucketfull and hauling them up to our back porch with the promise that they would somehow become exercise equipment.

And when I got home tonight, they did.

I took an old pair of jeans that were stained and no longer fit, two shoe laces, a heavy duty plastic trash bag, and a roll of duct tape out back where he had dumped his rocks.

tools

I cut the leg off of one side of the jeans and slid the trash bag inside so the bottom came out the hemmed end of the pants leg.

Then I tied the bottom off with a shoe lace and duct taped it into a stubby handle.

That left the top end of both the bag and jeans open, and I had the boy start scooping rocks in until we had just enough room to tie off the top and duct tape it into another handle.

The end result looks like this.

heavybag

It weighs 29 lbs – 1 lb more than the cinder block.

Here’s a few pictures of the boy trying it out.

calebliftbag

I think he likes it.

emailside

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

