Skip to content

Mark Made Me Do It

June 9, 2009

So lately I’ve been working more and more towards primal eating and primal living. No grains or legumes, no sugars or processed foods.

I have also been toying with the idea of intermittent fasting.

Now, I’m no stranger to fasting. I have done it often for religious purposes to no ill effect. But I’ve never done it (intentionally) as part of a diet or health regimen. Hell, it kinda flies in the face of what we’ve been taught about healthy eating habits and good diet practices all our lives.

But then, going by what I’ve been taught all my life is part of what got me up and over the 300 lb mark.

Now, however, there is some pretty solid research out there that points to intermittent fasting as a monster huge boost for anyone trying to lose weight . . . of which yours truly is one.

So after several long days (and nights) of work, I finally got a decent night’s sleep last night and woke up this morning thinking maybe I’d give it a go.

I took my shower, tossed on a bathrobe, and wandered downstairs to check my e-mail. Of course, what do I find in my inbox but Mad Mark Sisson requesting . . . no . . . demanding that I fast today. Called it a homework asignment or some such muck.

Well, my brain was already drifting down that path, so I figured, “Why the hell not?”

That’s the power of the internet, folks. Spend too much time here and soon you too will be letting modern day cavemen in toeshoes dictate your day from 3000 miles away.

But it went well. I was mad busy at work today. I don’t know if I would have gotten a break if I had brought lunch, so it worked out pretty well. I bought a litre of water and that was all I ate until I came home and made dinner.

All in all I feel pretty good.

emailside

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

