Skip to content

Current Workout 27 May 2009

May 27, 2009

Changing up the workout again. I do that roughly every 4-6 weeks to avoid things becoming stale. Plus I really need to up the intensity of what I’m doing right now. I let myself get a little bit lazy over the winter and well into spring, and I need to break that cycle.

Note :: After doing the workout I decided to rearrange a couple of the exercise for better flow.

::

fistibell

::

Monday ::

The Hill – Descend via Sideways Jumps (Alternate each descent facing North or South along the side of the hill). Ascend via Staggered Sprints. (10 Ascents/Descents)

Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Sunday ::

Warm Up – 100 weighted calf-raises

Bodyweight & Kettlebell Circuit – Using a 25 lb Kettlebell. Repeat Circuit as many times as possible in 30 minutes.

Alternating Forward Lunges (10)

Standard Push Ups (5)

Plank (30 seconds)

Jumping Pull Ups (5)

Kettlebell Squats (5)

2 Handed Swings (5)

1 Handed Swings (5 per side)

1 Handed High Pulls (5 per side)

Alternating Swings (5 per side)

1 Handed Shoulder Press (5 per side)

Kettlebell Rows (5 per side)

Kettlebell Curls (5 per side)

Cool Down – Ballistic Stretching, Grok Squat, Cobra

(I really need another Kettlebell. So many of these exercises would go so much more smoothly if I could work both sides at once. Of course, that would up the intensity, too, so maybe it’s good I only have the one).

Tuesday – Sunday ::

Varied Terrain Hiking – 1 hour (or more) per day

As Needed ::

The Good Stuff – Play with my puppy and my kids

emailside

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2009 17:00

    I need to start using my kettlebell. I have a tendency to get stuck in a routine which can be good (consistency!) but also bad because I tend to become a bit paralyzed when my routine is interrupted.

    Did you learn all the kettlebell stuff from websites? videos? Or did you have a trainer? Some of the those swings get pretty energetic and I’m always worried about injuring something.

  2. May 29, 2009 18:35

    I love my bell. It just makes working out fun.

    I learned from videos online, but I was very careful which ones I learned my form from. If you go through the links listed under F@ Camp Training on my sidebar you’ll find some pretty good ones. Jeff Martone of CrossFit is probably one of the best; Kettlebell Queen is really good, too, for showing the basics.

    Expert Village has a good video series on Kettlebells as well.

    You are right, form is insanely important and for a lot of people I think a personal trainer would be hugely helpful when it comes to learning the bells.

    *shrUg*

    I’ve always been good at learning things on my own if I can find good solid source material.

  3. June 3, 2009 23:25

    Nice blog. I know personally what its like to lose motivation now again, and its great to see you moving through the natural cycle of ups and downs.
    Keep up the great writing!

  4. June 5, 2009 13:09

    Thanks for the encouragement. Hopefully my rollercoaster ride of a life is leveling out a bit. It seems to be, in any case.

    [Xs fingers]

    :mrgreen:

Trackbacks

  1. Current Workout 25 June 2009 « no Quick fix

Leave a Reply

