Skip to content

LoOking GoOd vs Feeling GoOd

May 18, 2009

So anyone that’s perused my links knows they are likely to find anything from fat acceptance blogs to nutrition blogs to workout blogs to a smattering of weird friends I’ve hooked up with on the net.

My  interests are a mixed bag.

One thing I should probably make clear is that I am not on this journey in an effort to *look good*

For one thing, I don’t think I look all that bad. I’m big, but I’ve always been big. My wife is still into me and (most) small children don’t run screaming when I wander into their line of sight.

For me it has simply become a health issue (otherwise it wouldn’t be an issue at all).

I’m still learning about the diabetes and high blood pressure that I’ve been diagnosed with, but the one thing that rings through all my research is that losing weight is key in handling both conditions.

Losing bulk means my body works less at everyday tasks (like walking), which means my heart works less, which should, ultimately, mean lower blood pressure.

Likewise, the insulin resistance that is the hallmark of type 2 diabetes can be turned around simply by losing as little as a few pounds of fat (update) taking a half hour walk every day.

I know I’m rambling and I know I’ve said this before, but I’m really not in this for the six pack abs. I’m in it for my health.

Thus my mixed bag of interests. I am interested in weight loss and exercise. But I’m also still a total foodie and I love finding great recipes online. Likewise, as a man who has been the victim of size discrimination (though in all fairness, I think I faced a lot less of that than women my size would face. There’s just not a lot of folks who want to brave poking the 300 lb ex-con openly), I try to keep up with the fat acceptance and body-image blogs as well.

And I’m intensely interested in HAES. Because before the diabetes I was actually a very healthy very big guy. And I have no illusions that I’ll ever be a lightweight. I haven’t been a lightweight since grade school.

But that’s where I’m at.

Welcome to the sideshow.

For those of you new to my blog, I love comments. Constructive comments, snarky comments, downright vitriolic comments, I don’t care. Feedback is feedback. Either I can use it or at the very least it gives me something fun to mock play with.

emailside

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

