Skip to content

Evil Daddy

September 30, 2008

My eldest daughter HATES carrots.

Seriously. You would not believe the hoops this girl will jump through to avoid eating carrots (and I put carrots in nearly every soup and stew I make).

Well, tonight I made Pea Soup (which my family loves) and she was psyched to see that I’d loaded it down with chunks of potatoes (dude, you would not believe how much these people dig their taters) and . . . wait for it . . . not a carrot in sight.

The operative word there being *sight*

Actually, the entire soup was organic. Organic chicken broth (yeah, so my pea soup isn’t the vegetarian model), organic split green peas, organic celery, organic onions, organic yukon gold yellow potatoes, and [oops] organic yellow baby carrots (cut into chunks . . . like the potatoes . . . which were the exact same color).

:

:mrgreen:

:

She ate every last bite. Never once complaining. Never once even suspecting.

I made my daughter eat carrots.

No. I made my daughter eat carrots and LIKE them.

:

:

:

s C o r e ! 😉

:

Plus it was realllly good pea soup.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2008 08:58

    That was the best pea soup EVER!

  2. brahnamin permalink*
    October 1, 2008 09:02

    Glad you liked it. :mrgreen:

  3. October 2, 2008 12:32

    It sound yummy and good for you for getting her to eat her carrots! I’ve never had yellow baby carrots and didn’t even know there was such a thing until a few months ago. I’ll have to try them sometime.

  4. brahnamin permalink*
    October 2, 2008 13:05

    They pretty much taste like regular carrots. Vitamin content is slightly different.

    Regular carrots are overwhelmingly higher in vitamin A.

    There are also purple carrots (which are orange on the inside) that contain strong anti-oxidants in the dark pigment.

  5. October 4, 2008 17:57

    yummy that sound so good. I did know there was yellow or purple carrorts that so so cool.

  6. brahnamin permalink*
    October 4, 2008 20:12

    Yes, Virginia, they do exist. 😉

  7. October 5, 2008 00:40

    So… When did you tell her she ate carrots? Or did you? 😕

  8. brahnamin permalink*
    October 5, 2008 04:48

    Right after she told me how delicious the soup was, of course.

    I wouldn’t deserve the title *evil* if I didn’t also rub it in.

Leave a Reply

