Skip to content

That’s One Queer Ride . . .

September 28, 2008

So the other night my wife is on the DMV website checking the availability of a vanity tag she wanted.

Some variation of MD U LOOK (Made You Look).

She even tried it with QQs instead of OOs.

No Good.

So she went bopping off after other options, and with the use of our friendly neighborhood Q in place of the usual O, she got MQM TAXI.

Now, in the past I have exercised veto power over my wife’s choice in license plates based on the fact that I often have to drive her car. But I okayed her last vanity plate A11 LEGS (ALL LEGS) – though many a mechanic has made me regret that concession with a sideways glance and a smirk (My wife is 6’1″ with legs clear to here. I am a stubby footed Polock) . . .

But I allowed that I was domesticated enough that I wouldn’t balk at driving a MQM TAXI – at least then people would clearly understand that I was driving my wife’s car and not have to wonder about my A11 LEGS anymore.

Then my wife, being the loving giving woman that she is, decided to see if Our Taxi was taken, again substituting a Q for the O to improve her chances of its availability.

She was very excited when she found it was available, and exclaimed happily over it, telling me to come look.

I did, shaking my head over her shoulder at the proudly displayed QUR TAXI license plate (VA shows you what the plate will look like if it’s available). After a long moment’s consideration (Because I believe sometimes people should have to live with their funny mistakes) I sighed and decided to go ahead and invoke veto power again.

I said, “That’s nice and all, Hon, but there is no way in hell I’m going to drive the Queer Taxi. I just won’t do it.”

My wife was very embarrassed. But she’s pretty when she blushes. And she’s a good sport. She gave me permission to write this post, after all.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2008 06:50

    ROFLMAO

    Thank you for that – it will carry me through the first hour of work at least

  2. brahnamin permalink*
    September 29, 2008 12:35

    Anything I can do to boost the economy :mrgreen:

  3. September 30, 2008 12:09

    *Stops for hitchhiker* “Need a lift?”

    *Reads license plate* “No, I’m good.”

    Good catch and use of the veto. 😉

  4. October 2, 2008 12:37

    That is funny, glad you vetoed it.

Leave a Reply

