Skip to content

My Motivation

September 21, 2008

Well, she doesn’t know it, but my wife is my inspiration.

But this is my motivation

Photobucket

Yeah, I can’t do a pull up to save my life.

Seriously. Not one.

So I bought this monstrosity to egg me on. (It wasn’t expensive, and it fits most standard doorways – note: if you are over 250 lbs, choose a doorway with a very sturdy frame – I had to move mine from its original location).

I am determined to lose weight. I am determined to get fit.

As I said, my wife has been very inspirational. I’ve watched her do things she never thought she could do and it got me to thinking about all the things I can’t do.

I can’t fit into most rides at the amusement park.

Hell, I can’t fit into the booth at many restaurants. I have to request a table instead. (Yeah, maybe I don’t look so huge in my photo, but I have a hefty belly).

But the pull-up is one thing I haven’t been able to do . . . EVER.

Maybe when I was five, if I had tried, I could have managed one. But seriously, since my very first fitness test in grade school I have never been able to do a pull up.

So that is my motivator.

To either get strong enough to haul my fat @ss up into the air with my hands or to lose enough of my fat @ss that my hands are finally up to the job.

[reposted from my fitness blog f@camp180]

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2008 14:05

    I know you can do it, if I can do a 5k, you can do this.

  2. September 22, 2008 15:54

    B-man –
    I left a comment on your other blog, which seems to have disappeared (the comment, not the blog). I’ve been fitness-obsessed for the past year, and have spent the last six or seven moths weight training every other day, and fitting cardio in a couple or three times a week. But it really took changing my diet to make any headway in the weight loss department. I’m now doing a sort of South Beach/ Weight Watchers mix. I’ve cut out bread – just about all flour & wheat, actually – and that seems to have jump-started the weight loss.

    I was going to post some links to some good fitness blogs that I’ve been reading, but I just realized that WordPress doesnt’ like multiple links in comments, and so my comment elsewhere might have been spam filtered.

    Anyway, it looks like a nice piece of equipment. I’m anxious to learn how it works out for you.

  3. September 22, 2008 17:36

    It holds my weight without breaking but refuses to give me a boost no matter how much I whimper and beg.

    I’ll go look for your other comment.

    My blogs require 1 approved comment before automatically letting comments through. You have already commented here in the past but not there so it’s probably just been holding it for me, waiting for me to get online and approve it on through.

  4. September 23, 2008 11:34

    It holds my weight without breaking but refuses to give me a boost no matter how much I whimper and beg.

    I checked your stats. Dude, if you’re 300 lbs, then you’re a long way from doing pull ups. You need to be working on upper body strength, plus on your diet.

    Last year, the trainer that we saw had us working on all sorts of stuff, and it was good to learn how to exercise properly. We went to a training gym that used the Body for Life model. You can pick up the book by Bill Phillips if you’re interested. While they had a lot of gym equipment, I’ve managed to duplicate most of it in my basement with a convertible exercise bench and a wide range of dumbells. It’s a hell of a lot cheaper than buying a Soloflex 😉

    If you’re committed to South Beach, then you should see some decent weight loss soon. It’s good that you’re starting it now, so you’ll have momentum for the holidays. I’ve given up bread and wheat products, which means that I won’t kill myself if I have a cookie or some spaghetti once in a great while – like last night when I was at a late meeting and there was nothing else. Grr. I’m going to need to bring something with me, an apple or a 1/4 cup of almonds for emergencies.

  5. September 23, 2008 21:16

    Yeah, I’m actually kinda a veteran of the Beach, and I’ve found it really won’t knock weight off of me beyond the first 10 lbs or so unless I am also exercising, but it does wonders for my blood sugar levels, so I more or less stick to something Phase 2-ish most of the time.

    Starting tomorrow, actually, I’m going to brave Phase 1 again.

    I have the same issue with breads and pastas – wheat products – while I find I can consume potatoes and other no-no foods just fine.

    My wife is just the opposite. She can eat bread on phase 2 just fine but has trouble with the starchy stuff.

    I am definitely a long way away from unassisted pull ups.

    I have dumbbells and resistance bands for strength training (not to mention good old fashioned push ups).

    The bands coupled with a ceiling hook are good at simulating the motion of a pull up (if you use proper form). I can also use a chair to partially support my lower body on the chin up bar so my arms are pulling up less weight.

    The unassisted pull up is my motivator. A goal I am striving towards. I have no illusions about starting there.

  6. September 25, 2008 04:04

    The bands are good, but I think jumping pull-ups are better. It’s a more dynamic movement, you can crank out a lot more reps, you get used to moving your body without an assist, and it’ll get your heart rate way up.

  7. September 25, 2008 13:35

    Thanks for the tip.

    And the link (it took a minute to load, but I’d never have gotten what you were saying without the visual).

    Dude, those look awesome. :mrgreen:

    Honestly, I’m not a huge fan of the bands, but they were more affordable than free weights (though I nabbed a small set of dumbbells as well) so for now that’s what I’m using.

  8. February 10, 2009 10:13

    I don’t know if you’re still into this, but Men’s Health had a great article for this:
    Chinup Plan

Leave a Reply

