Skip to content

The Voice of God

March 2, 2008
aroadlesstraveled2.jpg

It’s funny how God speaks to us.

He has spoken to me through the Bible and through lines in novels my Sunday School teacher would have been appalled to find me reading. He has spoken to me from the pulpit and from the lips of lurching drunks. He has spoken to me in my observations of nature. And He has used the ever famous *still small voice*

This week He used my wife.

She talked and talked and talked some more. It was late, we were both exhausted, and we both had to get up early, but she didn’t stop. She quoted scripture, equated what she was saying with parables, and in general quietly, calmly begged me to stop fighting God.

We drifted off to sleep, nothing resolved.

The next morning she thought her words had fallen on deaf ears, because I woke up surly and grumbly and tired and in no good mood to be nice to anybody.

But the truth is I listened to every word. I just hadn’t had time to do anything with it yet. My 2 hour commute provided the time. And I used that time doing my damnedest to lay down my arms and surrender.

It’s a work in progress, but I mostly managed it and the change in how I feel and in my level of stress is markedly improved. But I have a lot of ground to make up.

I’ve spoken of this before, the dichotomy of the paths described in scripture. As Christians, we are supposed to follow the straight and narrow, while the world is on that broad and winding path that leads to . . .

.

Photobucket

.

What is glaringly obvious but what we tend not to think about, I think, is that those roads go in opposite direction and there is a lot of mess separating the two, so that even if you try to follow the *straight and narrow* from off to the side a bit, you’re bound to get turned aside or turned around.

And when you do get off that narrow road and travel for a time in the brambles or on that smooth, broad, and winding way – you can’t just step back on where you got off. Your journey has carried you in a completely different direction and when you get back on the narrow way you will find yourself having to cover ground you’ve already covered, learning lessons you thought you already learned.

That is where I am at today.

And this is not the first time I have found myself in this situation.

But it is good to be back here.

I am happier.

I am freer.

My wife learned a funny little lesson, too. It is a trend I noticed over a decade ago, but I find it holds true. When she came home from church she was very surprised to find that the message in church had been nearly verbatim the one she had given me. Same verses, same parables, same message part and parcel.

And I have encountered this before.

In prison I would call home and talk to my mom and learn that the lesson she heard in church was the same one we had been covering in Bible study. And then I would hear the same message on the radio. And it tells me we are probably not as alone as we think we are in our fighting against God. There are other people out there struggling with the same things I am struggling with and God is talking to all of us wherever we are, with whatever voice is available to him.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2008 22:33

    Very good post hun. I love all the things you have written. You have made a 360 turn and I love seeing it on you. It looks great.

    Hugs!

  2. March 2, 2008 22:49

    😳 – it would have looked better on me if i’d never turned away in the first place.

    :mrgreen: -erm, and it’s a 180 turn. 360 and i’m still left facing the wrong direction.

  3. April 1, 2008 12:46

    wow, love it!
    besides the fact that what you struggle with, everyone does also, God has this keen way of making sure what you need to hear, you hear. over and over.
    Just step back up on the path, my dear friend, no worries about making up for lost time and energies, God forgives and forgets.
    as for lessons learned over and over, even ones who walk the narrow path get taught over and over the little lessons they need to learn (kinda like groundhog day movie) until you get it right.
    but the weird thing is, getting it right, is when you glorify God in your actions and reactions.
    I know you have probably heard this, but trials and suffering and kinks in the road are the means by which God uses to refine us.
    Walking with The Lord is not a casual walk on the parks hiking trail, its a determined mindful yet joyful sprint to win the race. to get the prize. everlasting life with our savior.
    Be blessed, Kristina

  4. April 1, 2008 12:50

    woah, you got rid of all your other blogs?

  5. April 1, 2008 16:15

    Thanks for the encouragement. And, yeah, I got rid of my other blogs (and this one is still semi-under-construction). When I start blogging again I will focus my energies here. For now my old blogs are all archived at my original blog (a request from my wife) and some of those posts may find their way back here in time.

    For now, I am focusing more on my life, my family, and on the book God has me writing. My other blogs (and other internet activities – forums, etc) was distracting me from all of that.

    And it looks like He is opening doors for us to move to Michigan in the very near future (from all the way down in VA) so I don’t know how soon or how frequently I will really be posting here, but I’m glad you stopped by and hopefully you’ll feel welcome to stop back in and check things out in the future.

Trackbacks

  1. becca doesn’t read my blog « j u g g l i n g C a t s

Leave a Reply

