Skip to content

The Real Meaning of Christmas

December 18, 2007

All my life I’ve heard deep (read as not so deep) sermons on the real meaning of Christmas. Of how it’s all become too commercialized. Of how we focus on the gifts we give and receive more than the gift God sent in his Son, Yeshua.

Yet I can’t help but wonder, as I pick out my gifts this year, if in the process of reaching for the *holier than thou* we aren’t missing the purity of what we’ve been doing all along.

Yeshua himself said, In as much as you have done it unto the least of these my brethren, you have done it unto me.

In giving we embrace what Christ came to teach us.

In receiving we allow another to embrace it.

No, we should not forget that He is the reason for the season. But nor should we forget that faith without works is dead, and that in doing we are blessed so much more than in simply believing.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2007 08:00

    Like the look of your new blog – and you wearing your best suit and all!

  2. December 18, 2007 10:21

    What can I say? I always did look good in capitals.

  3. December 18, 2007 13:21

    Kudo’s to finding the “Shift” key

  4. December 20, 2007 21:22

    I now feel so much better about giving and receiving. I was starting to feel like the gifts were the reason we did this and that left me feeling blank about giving to people who already have so much and receiving when I already have everything I need around here somewhere.

    Merry Christmas if I don’t get another chance! Thank you for giving me so much this year. Caps and all.

  5. December 21, 2007 06:03

    *Sticks tongue out @ SkyWindows*

    @ Writesome –
    Merry Christmas!

  6. December 21, 2007 11:03

    “n giving we embrace what Christ came to teach us.”

    “But nor should we forget that faith without works is dead.”

    A-men.

    Just as we (Americans in particular, I think) have confused money with value, we’ve also mistaken gifts for what they are supposed to represent, which is a token of love.

    I had lost sight of that with obligation and everything else this year, and was (not so) gently reminded of it. It made the whole experience better, and I’m actually becoming a bit more excited about Christmas than I would have thought possible.

    I just discovered this, and can’t wait to see how it moves along, brahnamin!

    I wish you and your family a very, very Merry Christmas and blessings the whole year through.

  7. December 21, 2007 12:48

    Promises, promises…

  8. December 21, 2007 13:20

    @ lyrical –
    it is easy to get caught up in the hype on either side of the fence. but in the end i think we as human beings just love to make things complicated . . . but if we comb through our files we’ll find it is the simplest times wherein we were happiest.

    @ sky –
    grins – sunday ain’t so far away :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

