Skip to content

fatherly motivation

December 9, 2007

so we were at the candlelighter’s event last night where they honor kids with cancer. and since it is geared around kids it was not as boring as you might think. they had face painting and cotton candy and the kids all got toys.

and when the kids get toys that means i’ve got toys.

:mrgreen:

most of the toys were really nice but they had some door-prize toys, too.

one of which was that little stick with the cup on top and a ball on a string.

the object is to catch the ball in the cup.

easier said than done.

so my eldest daughter is watching me try and fail try and fail and getting impatient with the whole business because obviously i’m just a clumsy adult and she could do it oh so much better.

so she asks to try.

i look at her for a moment and then hand over the toy.

just before she pops the ball up for the first go i tell her (very seriously) ::

every time you miss, an angel goes to hell

it was a mastercard moment.

her worried little face was priceless.

i just wonder if it should bother me that she started saying *burn, angel, burn* every time she missed the cup . . .

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2007 09:25

    Her reaction was hilarious!!!

  2. December 9, 2007 13:09

    *snort*

    hilarious

    Did she ever get it in?

  3. December 9, 2007 15:29

    Fantastic! I don’t get to check in as often as I’d like, but I do love these stories.

    *burn angel burn*

    *cackle*

  4. December 9, 2007 15:59

    I love it when my kids get toys. Sometimes they even wrest them away from me, if they’re sneaky and persistent.

    “Burn, angel, burn.” I love it.

  5. December 9, 2007 19:31

    @ sky –
    it was, wasn’t it . . .

    @ blue –
    yes, yes she did

    @ lyrical –
    hey, i’m glad anyone bothers to read my blog at all

    @ cv –
    yeah, my kids have learned to pass toys AROUND me rather than to me on christmas morning

Leave a Reply

