Skip to content

on Dorks

July 19, 2007

 

my wife and i have a running argument. as a term of endearment, she often calls me a dork: a title i am content (from her) to wear. recently, however, i shot the term back at her, but she feverishly denies any claim to dorkdom.

so today in the car i asked my kids, “if you wanted to know how many hits it would take to kill an orc in the swamps of innothule, who would you ask?

in ringing chorus all three kids chimed in, “MOM!”

i love my kids.

my wife’s response involved a neat bit of single-digit sign-language, but she was unable to construct a lengthier retort (unless one counts five full minutes of blushing).

:: reprinted from the Archives

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2007 13:00

    Sorry,

    Your still a dork.

  2. July 19, 2007 13:54

    yup . . . and i married a dork to keep the bloodlines strong :mrgreen:

  3. July 19, 2007 13:55

    There is NO bloodlines being carried on from you dork!

    LOL

  4. July 19, 2007 14:17

    nevertheless, one must keep up appearances

  5. July 19, 2007 14:18

    now, that i have lived to be called a dork by a girl who presents herself as Hermoine Granger is an amazing thing indeed :mrgreen:

  6. July 19, 2007 15:44

    bah!

  7. July 19, 2007 17:05

    OK you two … break it up!

    How sad am I? I googled DORK and what I found was quite surprising:

    “Dork is a term of abuse favored by American youngsters, designating the target as quirky, awkward, eccentric, socially inept or simply of lower status. Similar epithets include nerd and geek and the Australian colloquialism of dag which has the added feature of being seen as affable or amusing.
    The term implies stupidity perhaps less often than it formerly did, and paradoxically can imply an unadmirable (bookish, academic) intelligence, much as “nerd” and “geek” do.”

    Now correct me if I’m wrong but I’m betting you don’t mind being called a “bookish academic intelligence” do you Stephen? Specially since you’re writerly. And you’re definately eccentric and quirky – even you couldn’t argue with that, could you?

    I suggest you do what I do when I read my horoscope – just pick out the best bits! PickNmix!

  8. July 21, 2007 07:32

    i didn’t say i minded being called a dork.

Leave a Reply

