Skip to content

Our Sins Make Us Sick :: (aka – offended to Death part 2)

July 8, 2007

i wasn’t in church today 

i had to work

but i just got off the phone with my wife and she told me all about it.

she took the three kids to church this morning.

the message was entitled *our sins make us sick* – and the content followed the title.

that was what it was all about this morning in church. how our sins make us sick.

my wife was appalled. my daughter (yes, the one with cancer) looked up at her and asked *what did it do so bad that i have to have this?*

i won’t be so hasty as to make the decision without first listening to the sermon on line and then talking to my wife, but it is in my heart to remove my membership from this church and i think it will be a long time before my shadow darkens any hallowed door.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2007 15:56

    The sermon was entitled “Captain we got a Problem”

    He was halfway through the sermon when a slide came on the screen up front showing a woman in a hospital bed. His exact words were this:

    “One of the consequences of our sins is within ourselves. Sin impacts us emotionally, and mentally. The existence of sin leads to shame, and guilt, stress and despondency, depression, discouragement. We worry because now we have to be in control to manage the results of our sin. Perhaps we have to try to cover it up so we keep wearing masks. We’re afraid we’ll be discovered. We avoid responsibility. It leads us to lack of Peace. Our attitude towards ourself becomes destructive. We begin to engage in self-destructive behavior. We don’t like ourselves very much so we try to escape from ourselves. Or even medicate ourselves.
    Sin ultimately impacts us physically, Psalmist says (referring to Psalm 38:3b) My whole body is sick, my health is broken, because of my sins.
    You see sin works its devastation in the quality of our lives. And many of our physical ailments have their origin, their genesis, in our Spiritual well-being, in our Spiritual condition.

  2. July 8, 2007 16:07

    Sorry didn’t mean to hit enter there, but I truly sat there and struggled with walking out of church. My daughter whispered to me after that asking what she had done wrong to deserve getting cancer.

    The only reason I stayed in church was because I didn’t know how difficult it would be to remove our son from Children’s Church. He had also moved on to how sin affects our relationships with others.

    At the end of the Sermon he was praying and he said this…
    “We are not going to compare ourselves to one another because I can always find someone who has sinned worse than me”

    Without realizing I said it outloud I said “Oh God!! Your Kidding me!!!”
    Everyone around me turned and looked at me because they heard me lol.

    You can hear the whole thing for yourself here:
    [audio src="http://wildernesschurch.org/images/messages/mp3/captain_weve_got_a_problem_07-08-2007.mp3" /]

    I know I have to talk to him about this, but I really would like to ask him what my daughter asked me…

    “What did she do that was so bad that she had cancer thrust upon her?”

  3. The 2 Witches permalink
    July 8, 2007 18:07

    While there is some basis of truth in illness having roots in our emotional state I have a very hard time with a minister laying blame on the sick for their own condition.

    I am so sorry that your daughter was made to feel as if something she did caused her cancer.

    {{{ hugs }}}

    Mama Kelly

  4. July 8, 2007 18:10

    lol the best part was my oldest’s response:

    If the pastor is right than why isn’t every guilty person in prison sick and dying and why are there newborns who have been born minutes ago sick?

  5. July 8, 2007 19:16

    Skywindows, for one, am sorry you had to listen to this message, which can easily be interpreted as, “it’s your fault you’re sick.” I know that the pastor can spin it any way he likes and could turn this into a different message than that which seems obvious, but that doesn’t ameliorate your pain.

    While some people have illnesses as a result of their own choices and some people are poor because of their own choices, not all (or even most) sick or poor people deserve it.

    I wish your daughter the best and I wish for a recovery – a speedy one if possible.

  6. July 12, 2007 06:32

    It’s that sort of thinking that made me part ways with religion… when I felt the testament had been replaced by the crooked words of mean men.

    I figured if there was a God then he/she/it could not be so petty and mean as to inflict illness on children as a punishment.

    I think that it is to the discredit of the minister to convey this message of fear and guilt.

    With or without God, people get ill. He/she/it however, can help you find the strength to get through it though.

  7. July 12, 2007 07:21

    I agree with 2 Witches…

    However that is an awful spin and very insensitive! I would have talked to the pastor right after and if couldn’t understand I’d kindly tell him where to stick it!

  8. August 16, 2007 16:40

    I’m so sorry to learn of your daughters illness. For some reason this post reminded my of th Chinese character for threat, (I’ve read) it also translates as opportunity. I wish your pastor had thought a little more deeply while preparing his sermon to offer guidance and hope rather than fear and condemnation. Your daughter’s response is a logical one and shows a depth of empathy and understanding befitting a queen.
    Best wishes for best health to your daughter, your family and you.
    Hazel.

  9. August 16, 2007 17:13

    thanks. maybe in a perfect world . . . but then i find this one seldom is.

Leave a Reply

