Skip to content

myLife-1983 :: age 13/14

July 1, 2007

this will be the first installment in a random series going over various years of my life. if anyone wants to turn the idea in to a meme, knock yourself out.

pick a year and start rambling.  

rolled out of the shire without so much as a hankerchief

lost my finger to gollum’s teeth

was the only kid on my street rocking out to U2 (years before they became popular)

tugged on thor’s beard and lost a footrace to a giant named *Thought*

oddly enough, was NOT yet playing dungeons and dragons

walked to the chalkboard with hands in pocket trying to hide a boner

mourned the fact that pop-rocks were no longer readily available in my state

learned to sail and cannoe

missed my father

wallowed in my first real crush

walked everywhere or rode my bike (and still got farther than most folks with cars)

wondered why all the adults thought being a kid was so much different from being an adult . . . resented it

owned jaba and vader both with my kewl new green lightsaber. (finally got to dress in something that wasn’t white or beige)

slightly conflicted realizing i had kissed my sister but still fantasized about bronze bikinis for the rest of the decade

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2007 12:24

    It would be nice if you could add your age. It makes it easier to identify with. Who was your first crush?

  2. July 1, 2007 13:17

    i turned 14 in 1983, but being an october baby i was 13 for most of that year.

    my first crush was a girl named tracy. my 7th grade science partner who also happened to ride my bus.

    the crush didn’t really develop until 8th grade.

    ps-thanks for the suggestion (about adding my age). it makes sense

  3. Red permalink
    July 1, 2007 23:48

    I was 4/5 in 1983.
    Only thing I knew was that I was glad I wasn’t crapping in my pants like little sis was.

  4. July 2, 2007 09:30

    and in 2063 little sis will be looking up @ you feeling the same thing, neh?

    😉 -i am teh ebil

Leave a Reply

