Skip to content

classic 80's fashion Tragedies

March 19, 2007

this post was spawned by comments generated on this post about the schtoopid schtuff we wore back in the eighties.  

  

clothing ::

never into it

totally diggin it

  • pegged jeans
  • baggy summerweight sportscoat over t-shirt w/ sleeves rolled up (thank you don Johnson, you ineffable prick)
  • vans (who doesn’t love checkerboard shoes?)
  • big clunky tan work boots with red laces (maybe that was just a VA thing)
  • cammo pants from army surplus
  • denim jacket (for those of us whose parents couldn’t afford leather. worn under the leather once you got a job and could spring for your own cowhide)
  • ripped jeans (late eighties)

accessories ::

never into it

  • swatch watches
  • spiked leatherwear (armbands, bracelets, belts, etc)
  • dog chain jewelry

totally diggin it

hair ::

never into it

  • rat tail. never had one
  • spiked hair (well, okay, did it once, believed the mirror, never did it again)

totally diggin it

  • the ducky* flip (my shame knows no end) -though mine was more to the left rather than a full-on center flip.
  • ozone raping quantities of aqua-net (you can’t do the ducky flip without it)

:: 

*as in ducky of Pretty in Pink fame

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2007 13:52

    I am going to reply more in a while, but I used to have zipper pants that zipped from front to back. The picture shown here is close, but they were corduroy and much tighter than these:

    They were my favorite pants and I had them in all different colors. My cousin and I would exchange one leg from each of our pants so each leg was a different color.

  2. March 19, 2007 14:08

    OMG, no you didn’t!

    hahahahahah

    unfortuntaly I didn’t have “not intos” . . . .I wish I had!

    clothing :: Legwarmers, cut off sweatshirts, HyperColor, Varnet, Neon colours, T-Shirt with the t shirt knot tie thing at the bottom, leggings, safety pinned jeans, acid wash, I owned a pair of mustard yellow ‘mc hammer’ balloon pants, lots of shoulder pads and thick stripped shirts and fish nets. . . .

    accessories :: Jelly braclets, snap braclets, big hoop earings, weaved shoelaces, jelly shoes, doc martens

    hair :: rock hard curled bangs with a pined sprayed Poof on the top, side french braids, high ponytails with a tube (think Madonna pointed bra look)

  3. March 19, 2007 14:18

    yes but did you have the pointed bra?

  4. March 19, 2007 14:19

    @ T

    why don’t you wear pants like that now??? 8)

  5. March 19, 2007 14:31

    I didn’t have the pointed bra, I doubt at the age of 8 i could have done it justice!

    hahahahahah

    This entry rocks. . . . Meeeemmmmmorrrriiiiieeeeesssss. . . . .

  6. March 19, 2007 15:11

    LoL

    i don’t think you need actual boobs to do a bra like that justice.

    that bra creates its own justice.

  7. March 19, 2007 15:12

    ewww

    except now i have this really dominatrix image of judge Judy in my head

    *s h u d d d d d e r*

  8. March 19, 2007 15:50

    hrm . . .

    . . . i wonder if we can talk joey or skyWindows into typing up girl versions of this post?

  9. April 2, 2007 02:41

    ok, so you didn’t need boobs because the pointy bra did all the work, but hey… she said she was eight

    ICK.

    And holy frac I’m old. I moved out on my own in 1981, met Mr. Fracas in 1983, got married in 1986, had my oldest kid in 1987….

    No wonder I dye my hair.

    My eighties embarassment… mesh clothing. The fishnets were mesh too, but I still like them even though my 16 year old daughter with pink and blue hair would DIE if she saw me wearing them since she thinks they’re only for her crowd.

  10. April 2, 2007 06:47

    @ fracas
    i sometimes keep my girls in line simply by telling them i will come visit them at their schools…and then suggesting i might do so in bermuda shorts.

    with a button up shirt

    black socks

    slippers

    and a beret 🙂

    so don’t just think of your fishnets as something that *might* embarrass her . . . take that preemptive strike and make *sure* it embarrasses her.

    8)

  11. April 2, 2007 06:50

    (if you are feeling particularly evil you can threaten to take pictures of yourself in them and link them to her mySpace

  12. May 8, 2007 18:03

    big clunky tan work boots with red laces (maybe that was just a VA thing)

    Woodbridge, eh?

    That was always a Nazi thing … heh

Trackbacks

  1. I heart the 80's « Sky Windows

Leave a Reply

