Skip to content

Lisinopril-Harmless blood pressure medicine? or deadly Brazillian viper venom?

August 22, 2007

so i got my new bp meds yesterday.

i took my first one this morning.

then i went to their web site for more information.

below is a direct quote from their website (no, i am not making this sh*t up)

Interestingly, lisinopril and other ACE inhibitors were developed from the venom of a poisonous Brazilian snake.

ie – *thanks for buying our product! now you’re going to die :mrgreen: *

i hate my doctor

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2007 13:50

    What’s the worst that can happen?

    (total paralysis and internal organ failure in a Brazilian jungle doesn’t count, because that’s not a demise, it’s an adventure.)

  2. Red permalink
    August 22, 2007 17:48

    hahah! An adventure ..!

  3. Red permalink
    August 22, 2007 20:29

    The name of the drug didnt’ click until I read this entry again. My husband takes the same thing for his BP .. ! And he’s still alive.

  4. brahnamin permalink*
    August 22, 2007 21:14

    that’s not a demise, it’s an adventure . . .
    that’s not a knife . . . THIS is a knife . . .

    now i need hernia medicine . . . i think i pulled something laughing.

    my wife was sure i was going to quit the meds behind that. i just found it amusing. doubly so since i’d already downed the pill. but as long as my bp remains elevated i’ll take whatever my doc insists on.

    i don’t want to go through what her dad went through last year

    in fact, if my ribcage never sees a bonesaw and a spreader i may well die a happy man

  5. David permalink
    November 13, 2007 16:16

    So what is the big deal if a medication was developed from snake venom? I use to work in a venomous animal lab, milking deadly snakes for both anti venom and for medical research. Over the years, a number of very beneficial medications have been developed from venoms of snakes, spiders and plants. Without these developments, many hundreds and thousands of people would have died much sooner than need be.

    Do you know anyone that has has serious heart disease or a heart attack and needed digitalis? That was also derived from an organic toxin.

    Have you ever thought of chewing tree bark to rid yourself of a head ache? The main ingredient of aspirin is found in willow bark and the Indians of the Americas knew of it long before the Europeans set foot in the western hemisphere.

    Besides, If you have no objection to profitting or reaping the beneficial effects derived from non-venom sources, why should this bother you?

    If you dig a lettle deeper, you will find that it was developed from the venom of a Brazilian pit viper of the genus Bothrops. But continue to read further and you find that lisinopril is acutally manufactured pharmaceutically and not from snake venom at all.

    • Debra permalink
      April 15, 2010 22:39

      I understand your points but as a user of lisinopril I can tell you that it did in fact lower my BP. However, my BP is normally ok but had gone up due to certain cirumstances and so they put me on this med. Well I can tell you that this med definitely caused all kinds of things to happen to me mentally and physically. Now that I have reduced this med I went from functioning at 20% to 85% and once I’m off completely I’ll be back to 100%. So yes this medicine does help lower the BP but in many patients it DOES DEFINITELY cause SERIOUS problems. I felt AWEFUL!!!

      Debra

  6. brahnamin permalink*
    November 13, 2007 23:43

    @ david – i take it you aren’t a big fan of irony

    @ debra – i wrote this post a bit tongue-in-cheek, but over the years I actually ended up having to abandon this medicine for systemwide issues it was causing me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

